Home » Developer & Programmer » Application Express, ORDS & MOD_PLSQL » Correct Use of LOV (OracleAPEX, 18.5, Linux)
Correct Use of LOV [message #675479] Tue, 02 April 2019 04:06 Go to next message
drosso
Hi,
I'm new to APEX and I'm trying to understand the correct usage of a LOV Item; in my use cases I often have fields that are made of a code and a description: the description is shown on the form whilst the code remains beneath the scene and must be used when the record is saved to DB.
At the moment, for all these fields I'm using LOV items, where the description is the display value and the code the return value: I thought that referencing the item when saving to DB would allow me to access the code (i.e. the return value of the LOV) but it seems that the description (i.e. the display value) is always given.
Am I doing something wrong ? Should I use a different kind of item in this case ?
Thank you.
Re: Correct Use of LOV [message #675495 is a reply to message #675479] Tue, 02 April 2019 07:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
cookiemonster
I don't use apex but I have done lots of forms coding and forms LOVs sound the same.
To do this in forms you would need two items - an invisible one for the code that is linked to the DB column and a visible one for the description that's not linked to the DB.

If the LOV only returned the code then surely the code is what you would see in the form?
Re: Correct Use of LOV [message #675508 is a reply to message #675495] Tue, 02 April 2019 14:13 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
Cookiemonster, in Apex, LoV query always has to have two values: a display (such as ENAME) and return (such as EMPNO) values. No more, no less. Display value is displayed on the screen (when you select from a LoV), return value is saved into the database (and isn't visible on the screen *). For example:

select ename d,       --> display value
       empno r        --> return value
from emp