Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » How can I model a column in a new table after a column in an existing table?
How can I model a column in a new table after a column in an existing table? [message #682641] Wed, 04 November 2020 12:45 Go to next message
Darth Waiter
Hi all:

Most of my background is on MS SQL, and I know very basics of Oracle. When I create CRUD stored procedures, I use the underlying table column's type for parameters all the time.

v_col1 IN schema.table.column%TYPE
Can I do the same for some but not for all columns, when I create tables that depend on an existing table? For instance, if I have

create table a(a varchar2(10));
How can I

create table b(b ...%type);
where type would be derived from a.a and be the same varchar2(10) but without declaring it explicitly?

Thank you!
Al

[Updated on: Wed, 04 November 2020 12:49]

Report message to a moderator

Re: How can I model a column in a new table after a column in an existing table? [message #682642 is a reply to message #682641] Wed, 04 November 2020 13:13 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator

create table b (b,...) as select a,... from a where 1=2;
or, simpler, if the columns have same names:
create table b as select * from a where 1=2;

Re: How can I model a column in a new table after a column in an existing table? [message #682643 is a reply to message #682642] Wed, 04 November 2020 13:30 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Darth Waiter
This models the whole table after the original one, but I am only looking to model some columns.
I understand that I can use literals for the rest but that will require a cast on each of them which outweighs the benefit of modeling some columns after the original.
Re: How can I model a column in a new table after a column in an existing table? [message #682644 is a reply to message #682643] Wed, 04 November 2020 13:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator