Home » RDBMS Server » Backup & Recovery » Monitoring backup process
Monitoring backup process [message #152399] Thu, 22 December 2005 22:05 Go to next message
iriswancy
I'm new in database administration and everytime when i do a backup processing for a schema, i always need to go back and forth from my place to the database server to monitor whether the backup processing has been done or not as my seat is quite a distance far from the server.

Is there any ways to monitor backup process using Oracle Enterprise Manager?

Is there anyone can help?

Thanks & Regards,
Iris
Re: Monitoring backup process [message #152452 is a reply to message #152399] Fri, 23 December 2005 04:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
orausern
well..servers are allways away from the place where one sits..but you can connect to that server from where you sit , isnt' it? You do not need OEM, just for this purpose....

For example, in my office, I can connect to another machine via using remote desktop.

Re: Monitoring backup process [message #152462 is a reply to message #152452] Fri, 23 December 2005 06:37 Go to previous messageGo to next message
iriswancy
Dear Niravshah,

Thanks for reply. Well, my PC is connect to the server but i want to monitor the backup processing via my PC. Currently, my PC was installed with OEM and can this application can be used to monitor backup progress.

Or can you recommend other ways to monitor the backup progress?

Or any application tht can be used for monitoring such as putty or cygwin?

Regards,
Iris
Re: Monitoring backup process [message #152464 is a reply to message #152462] Fri, 23 December 2005 06:43 Go to previous messageGo to next message
orausern
Hi,

by backup you mean: export backup? or cold backup? or hot backup? or they are rman backup?

we use only export backup , and they run at night, and next day I check the logfile..

so what do you want to monitor and what type of bkup u take?

thanks
N.