Home » Other » Client Tools » Installation /use of sqlplus with oracle 10g
Installation /use of sqlplus with oracle 10g [message #16252] Thu, 18 November 2004 17:56 Go to next message
Maria
I am a complete newbie at this. I downloaded oracle 10g and installed it. Now I dont know how to start using sql plus. I have received a script from a friend of mine that turns on services that oracle needs. I have being doing some reading on the net and certain environment variables need to be set?? I am so lost as to even start doing something in SQL please any help, link anything will help. (yes I am taking a course on it)
thanks for your time and patience
Maria
Re: Installation /use of sqlplus with oracle 10g [message #16253 is a reply to message #16252] Thu, 18 November 2004 18:23 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Barbara Boehmer
I am using 9i, but I imagine 10g is still similar. Are you using Windows? Hopefully, you installed the database server and not just the client.

If there is a SQL*Plus icon on your desktop, then click on that. If you don't have a SQL*Plus icon, then click on Start in the lower left-hand corner of your screen, then All Programs, then Oracle, then Application Development, then SQL*Plus. If you can't find that either, then search your system for the file sqlplusw.exe and start that file.

Either of the three methods above should get you to a logon screen that asks for a username, password, and host string. Hopefully, during installation, you were prompted for passwords for users like system and you remember or wrote down those passwords. Oracle usually also installs a user scott with password tiger. So, try entering scott in the user name box and tiger in the password box. You should be able to leave the host string box blank and have it go to the default database. Then click OK.